Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

new deck

caz247
Getting Established

new deck

Hi, I'm a newbie to this site and to reno projects.  We've just had a new verandah put in and need to finish and protect it. It is jarrah wood.  From my research I believe an orbital sander is the right sander to finish the new raw surface before applying deck sealer.  Hoping to please get confirmation of this approach. I dont want to ruin it!

Jason
Community Manager
Community Manager

Re: new deck

Hi @caz247,

Welcome to Workshop. Great to see you make your first post. We trust you'll get heaps of helpful information, advice and inspiration for all your projects around the home and garden from our amazing community members. 

It would be great to see your new verandah if you could please share some photos. It might also help members to see whether it does need a sand or not before oiling. And can you please confirm when the new deck was installed? 

Please let me know if you ever need a hand getting the most from the Workshop site, or have any feedback about how we can make Workshop even more useful to you. 

Jason

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
MitchellM
Amassing an Audience

@caz247 please take a close-up of the decking showing the grain and how smooth it is.

New decking mostly comes finished and smooth, not needing sanding.

You may however need a liquid deck prep product before oiling, though this is generally only needed for merbau.

I am a Bunnings team member. Any opinions or recommendations shared here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of Bunnings. Visit the Bunnings website for assistance from the customer service team.

caz247
Getting Established

new verandah.JPGnew verandah closeup.JPGHere are two photos of the new deck.  The second is an attempted close-up of the jarrah wood to show surface.  It is new timber.  It is quite smooth and nice and clean (at the moment)!