Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

DIY electrical and why you should never attempt it

CSParnell
Amassing an Audience

DIY electrical and why you should never attempt it

Screenshot_20220730-172707_Chrome.jpg

You may have seen these stickers around your local Bunnings electrical department and thought "oh they are just covering themselves". But it is so important not to carry out D.I.Y. electrical work as it has the potential to cause injury to yourself and harm others.

I am a qualified electrician of 20 years and have also held the position of a QTP (qualified technical person) - the person responsible for all rules and regulations of an electrical contractor licence of a business of multi million contracts. So I write this with an understanding of the importance of not only being qualified but always being current with the latest rules and regulations.

The following taken from the Electrical Safety Office QLD really gives good perspective on why you should never perform electrical work yourself.

You might think you can save a few dollars by having a go at electrical work yourself, but stop and ask yourself – is it worth risking your life or the life of someone you love? 

Not only is it breaking the law, but you could also jeopardise your insurance!

Changing powerpoints or light switches might seem simple, but unless you are trained and qualified, there are lots of risks you just won’t know about. Never attempt to do your own electrical work – you could kill or injure yourself or your family, or start a fire. Always use a licensed electrician

What is electrical work?

Under section 18 of the Electrical Safety Act 2002 (the Act), electrical work includes "the manufacturing, constructing, installing, testing, maintaining, repairing, altering, removing, or replacing of electrical equipment".

This covers tasks like:

• installing a new power point
  • replacing a light switch