Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Gib (Universal) Anchor issue

ec1234
Finding My Feet

Gib (Universal) Anchor issue

I have just installed a shelf with a wardrobe rail using plastic toggle drywall anchors (see https://www.mitre10.co.nz/shop/cobra-universal-anchor-assortment-for-plasterboard-or-solid-walls-pac...). Had help as I am new to DIY. 

The anchors have slightly come away from the wall (5-10mm), but are holding strongly. There is no movement in the shelves while still holding weight (clothing, as in wardrobe storage).

What are the risks with this? Will this need to be removed and the anchors replaced to ensure they remain flush with the wall? If so, can the same drill holes be used for anchors with a larger diameter than those currently used, or will I need to start from scratch on this? 

image.jpg

Studs are tricky in this house. 

I note only the upper anchors have shifted, the bottom ones are holding flush with the wall. 

TIA! 
EC 

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: Gib (Universal) Anchor issue

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @ec1234. It's terrific to have you join us and many thanks for your question.

Did you install those with a screwdriver? There is a possibility that you didn't tighten them down hard enough to expand the plastic portion behind the plasterboard. You should start by pushing the shelf and bracket back into position and flush against the wall. You might need to tap the screws/toggle down as well so they are also flush.

Once you have the bracket and toggles back into position I suggest re-tightening them with either a large screwdriver or a battery-powered drill/driver. The toggles with take a decent amount of effort to expand fully. You will need to exert more force than simply tightening them till snug as the plastic needs to be forced to expand.