Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How can i cut into EPS

AprilGrim
Growing in Experience

How can i cut into EPS

Hi all,

I need some help in relation to Expanded Polystyrene Cement (EPS)

I was planning to move a few power points/sockets in our house, but have discovered all the internal walls are filled with it. 

I am on a tight budget and so was wondering if it is possible to use a hammer and chisel to clear a path, so to speak, from the current socket to about 30 below it, where I need it to be located to. 

I don’t plan on having anything to do with the electrical wiring, just trying to reduce labour/hourly rate cost. The electrician that came to have a look for a quote said he would have to hire an edger or router (can’t remember which one) to cut the wall. 

I’d turn the power off when I chisel into the wal to be safe, however I have no experience with EPS. It’s frustrating as I was also wanted to have my washing machine taps moved, but same problem. I don’t want to dig half the wall out and comprise wall integrity either. 

Any information or advice would be enormously helpful because i feel really unsure about what my next move should be. 

attached image of EPC for reference 

DD8FDC01-8A43-4512-80A9-3FFD94CAD0E1.png

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: How can i cut into EPS

Hi @AprilGrim,

I would always advise caution when working anywhere near electrical work and encourage you to use the services of a qualified electrician. I would also believe moving the powerpoint in an EPS wall would be a relatively simple task for an electrician and not take more than 15 minutes to cut the material away. I'd suggest they want to use a router to achieve a great finish and ensure a neat cut. Perhaps you could get another quote to see if there are other options available.