Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to secure a hardwood ply roof to a workshop?

ironbark
Building a Reputation

How to secure a hardwood ply roof to a workshop?

Hi I'm building a large workshop/studio under a very large shed. The studwork is up and the ceiling/roof rafters ( 140mmx45mm) are in place. This structure has a racked roof and it's completely protected from the weather. I have all the sheets of 12mm ply that I need. I am intending to glue and possibly nail the ply into position (leaving a small expansion gap between sheets that will be laid in a 'stretcher bond' style. I have a Paslode Frame-master nail gun and was intending to use 50mm nails. I'm now wondering if screws along the edges might be wise; and if so what size and type would be best?

Any comments or suggestions would be much appreciated.

Thanks John

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: How to secure a hardwood ply roof to a workshop?

Hi John (@ironbark),

I take it these plywood boards are for internal cladding of the walls? If so, I can't imagine the sheets are going to go anywhere if they are glued and nailed into place. Was there anything you were particularly concerned about?

There's nothing wrong with using screws instead, and I'd suggest something along the lines of Zenith 8 - 10 x 40mm Treated Pine Countersunk Head Screws. That's presuming you've used exterior grade timber. If not, you can use any screw in those sizes.

We'd love to see some pictures of your build if you'd care to share them

Please let me know if you have any questions.

Mitchell

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
ironbark
Building a Reputation

Hi Mitchell,