Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to use an electric drill?

REL-B
Finding My Feet

How to use an electric drill?

Hi everyone,

Before I begin please be aware that I’m a complete NEWBIE in regards to home improvements so please be patient with my very basic questions and inquiries. 

I would like to know the best way to learn how to use an electric drill as I want to mount security cameras to the outside of my house. I have a drill and all screws ets needed but just want to learn how to use it first before I get up on the ladder and try it.

Thank you for your help and again please be patient with me !!! 🤓

Re: I want to learn how to use an electrical drill and to know more information on the tool

I think it was somewhere around 1998 and I bought a small (300 watt) electric drill from Repco.

Loved it - small and versatile.

The specifications on the box told me it could drill metal to a maximum of 10mm diameter.

So I tried it on plate steel wedged at a comfortable angle on the ground.

And away I went.

Then at some point the drill bit 'grabbed' the metal and in a microsecond, the whole drill case shattered and disintegrated. The drill bit remained in the plate, still with the chuck attached.

I was left holding the handle, no longer connected to the chuck. The body was in pieces on the ground - and I kid you not, there were cogs rolling down the driveway. 😁

The circuit breaker had tripped.

I learnt a lot from that experience.

Dave-1
Home Improvement Guru

Re: I want to learn how to use an electrical drill and to know more information on the tool

Afternoon @Noyade