Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

In-built window bench seats

AS19
Growing in Experience

In-built window bench seats

1470CA24-6789-4C61-8977-B8DE368F44DD.jpeg

2760203D-807B-4C4F-8D34-304EE629FE09.jpeg

427C24E0-BC2A-4DFC-900C-A62DA5702F9C.jpeg

Hi everyone! I’m looking for some detailed advice to mentor me through a project while I can’t access workshops or courses! I’m enthusiastic but self-taught and haven’t tackled something like this before. I’m hoping to install some inbuilt bench seats flanking my fireplace and frame out the fireplace or spruce it up some other way to modernise it. The first pic is the area I’m working with and the rest are my inspo. My questions so far are:

1) Would you attach the framing to the walls or build it freestanding and then secure it at the end?

2) Would you remove the carpet in that area, given that at some point we’ll want to replace the flooring for the whole room?

3) Do I need to use treated timber for the framing?

4) Would a circular saw, driver and nail gun be adequate in terms of tools?

Any other tips or things I should consider before starting are most welcome! Thank you in advance :smile:

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: In-built window bench seats

Hi @AS19. Many thanks for your questions, I'd be happy to kick the conversation off.

It sounds like a fantastic project, I'm sure our creative community members will have plenty of ideas to contribute. Your inspiration pictures certainly let us know where you want to head with the project, which is a great start.