Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Help wanted for complete newbies renovating a bathroom

Femster1968
Getting Established

Help wanted for complete newbies renovating a bathroom

Hi all.

not only did the ceiling in our bathroom cave in due to wet weather and mould (badly built pre-approval farm house some 40 years old), our bath/shower combo cracked- it’s moulded and has those really horrible old swing doors.

we have already bought a bath. We are going to get a shower curtain rail, and put it across the front of the bath(it’s going to be semi freestanding, on a frame, in almost the same location as the current monstrosity of a unit). We are going to save the swinging shower doors, take them out of the frames, and. Turn them upside down, and use them on the end of the bath as privacy screens, one each end. They won’t swing, they will be fixed.

I must admit I am terrified of doing this ourselves, but I know you guys out there can help. Being pensioners, it will be hard, but I  know that we can do it, despite being newbies.know 

any ideas or tips you have would be great.

I must 

EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: complete newbies renovating a bathroom after structural issue.

Hello @Femster1968

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community. It's wonderful to have you join us, and thank you for sharing your question about renovating your bathroom.

I'm sorry to hear about all those issues you're having with your bathroom. Would it be possible for you to post a picture of the bathroom and the new bath? This will give our members a chance to assess its condition. We can then make recommendations on how to proceed.