Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to add a handheld shower to an existing fixed straight arm rain shower

bilcruise
Building a Reputation

How to add a handheld shower to an existing fixed straight arm rain shower

Hi guys,

I am really keen to add a handheld to this shower system. Did some googling and found that what needs to be done is to add a shower diverter that can control the flow and to allow the attachment of both the existing rain shower head and a handheld shower.

Is this correct? The resources I found was for people in the US though, so not sure how things are in AU (I am a novice when it comes to DIY). Can you recommend any products that are available at Bunnings?

IMG_6004.jpg

IMG_6003.jpg

Bomber25
Cultivating a Following

Re: How to add a handheld shower to an existing fixed straight arm rain shower

@MitchellMc very similar indeed, I checked in store and unfortunately couldn’t find what  I was after. I connected the diverter in between the rain head and the end of the fixed arm. It’s almost hidden above the head. I leave the diverter half on and can use the hand held shower head as an additional with a press of a button.

Bomber25
Cultivating a Following

Photos as promised.

IMG_4907.jpeg

IMG_4908.jpeg

Hi @Bomber25, thank you for posting the photo and your previous suggestion. It’s exactly what I’m after! Thank you again! 

EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Hello @Bomber25 

Thanks for posting your D.I.Y. solution to divert the water to your hand-held shower head. I'm sure our members will find this remedy quite handy.

Eric

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Hi @nwos

I'm glad that @Bomber25's solution is applicable to your shower set. Please keep us updated with your progress, don't forget to post a photo once you have the diverter in place.