Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to add a handheld shower to an existing fixed straight arm rain shower

bilcruise
Building a Reputation

How to add a handheld shower to an existing fixed straight arm rain shower

Hi guys,

I am really keen to add a handheld to this shower system. Did some googling and found that what needs to be done is to add a shower diverter that can control the flow and to allow the attachment of both the existing rain shower head and a handheld shower.

Is this correct? The resources I found was for people in the US though, so not sure how things are in AU (I am a novice when it comes to DIY). Can you recommend any products that are available at Bunnings?

IMG_6004.jpg

IMG_6003.jpg

EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: How to add a handheld shower to an existing fixed straight arm rain shower

Hi @bilcruise

You can achieve the same effect with these parts. I recommend using the Flexispray Chrome Plated Economy Flow Switch. This is the main diverter that will allow you to switch between the rain head and your shower head. Connect this part to the wall then connect the arm back onto it. Make sure to use Kinetic 12mm x 10m White Standard Thread Seal on all the threaded fittings.

For the shower assembly, I suggest using the Estilo 1500mm Stainless Steel Double Lock Shower HoseFlexispray WELS 3 Star 9L/Min Chrome Single Function Bermuda Handset, and the Flexispray Chrome Bermuda Shower Bracket to hold the showerhead onto the wall. You screw the hose to the bottom of the diverter and attach the handset onto the hose. You then attach the shower bracket to your preferred height for the handset to sit on.

If you need more advice or information, please let us know.

Eric

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
bilcruise
Building a Reputation