Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Can you use wooden pallets for garden shed floor?

Tricia2002
Finding My Feet

Can you use wooden pallets for garden shed floor?

Hi, I have an Absco Standard Bike Shed 3.00m x 1.52m x 2.08m and I'm looking at getting a cheap flooring for the bike shed?

Can wooden pallets work, if I treated the wood  and nail down wooden sheets on top? Or what other cheap options are there? I got quoted a wooden floor kit would cost $1000 , I don't want to spend that much.

Tricia2002
Finding My Feet

flooring for bike shed

Hi, I have an Absco bike shed 3 X 1.52, says I need to bolt down to a cement slab, and need to buy extra Anchor kits. I want to try an alternative way of anchoring my shed, by using Matrix Shed Floor Panels 

IMG20211117144154.jpg

 on their site it mentions how to anchor a shed down.

https://www.designflow.com.au/shed_floor_panel.html.

Has anyone used these before to anchor a shed down, can you share pictures of what it looks like, because I'm not sure how it is done.

EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: Can you use wooden pallets for garden shed floor?

Hello @Tricia2002

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community. Thank you so much for joining us and sharing your question about using pallets as a garden shed floor.

Unfortunately, timber pallets don't last long when in contact with water and soil. You have a few options when it comes to building a shed floor.

Among those, the most affordable option is the concrete base. You'll approximately need 26 bags to create a base that is 75mm thick. If you go ahead with this option, I suggest hiring a cement mixer from your local store to speed up the mixing of the cement. For extra strength, I recommend putting in Whites 1800 x 1050 x 5mm Light Duty Reo Mesh in conjunction with Whites 25 - 40mm Plastic Reinforcing Bar Chair - 20 Pack.

Here are some handy step-by-step guides: