Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Floating desk install

PChandog
Getting Established

Floating desk install

I am building a floating desk in my study. I am completely new to this and need some help and advice to let me know if I am on the right track. 

I want to buy two 1800mm benchtop (cut them to 1400mm each) to fit in a 2800mm space. They will be 600mm wide and 38mm thick. 

Any help and advice will be greatly appreciated. 

Jason
Community Manager
Community Manager

Re: Floating desk install

Hi @PChandog,

Welcome to the community. We're pleased to have you join us and look forward to seeing you successfully complete your desk project. With so many people working from home I'm sure it will be a popular one.

Let me tag some users who have completed similar projects before and might be able to kick off the discussion and share their thoughts: @ProjectPete@Tara86@Starkers_17@LePallet.    

You might also get some hints and tips from this project on the Bunnings website - How to make a D.I.Y. timber floating wall desk

Floating_Desk.png

I will also embed the video below. Hope it helps get you started. 

Jason

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
Brad
Kind of a Big Deal

I would start by only cutting one benchtop as there is less chance of error.

To join you will need Benchtop Connectors https://www.bunnings.com.au/search/products?page=1&q=Benchtop%20Connector&sort=BoostOrder&pageSize=6... 

ProjectPete
Kind of a Big Deal

Hi @PChandog, can you share a photo of your space please and show which walls it'll be connected to?

----------
Handy and helpful
Instagram @projectpete.diy @at.home.rosehill @kayudesignco @aspirebamboo

pic1.jpgpic2.jpg

Please excuse the mess. Two teachers in the house, so we had to quickly set up for remote learning.😣