Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to lay wooden floor?

Sam-Sam
Getting Established

How to lay wooden floor?

Hello Everyone,

I hope you all are doing well and had a good start of the new year.

I am planning on replacing the carpet in my rooms and lounge with the laminate flooring item – “Select 8mm 2.13sqm World Oak Bevelled Edge Laminate

I need you help on below queries wrt laying laminate flooring. Would it be possible to help on this?

1. What kind of saw and blades I need to buy for cutting the floor boards? (I’ve no prior experience of using the saw).

I’ve shortlisted - Ozito 210mm 1600W 8¼" Compound Mitre Saw I/N: 0025645. Is this the right one for cutting abovementioned floor boards/laminate?

1. How to decide the type of the moulding/scotia to be used?
  2. What type of nails gun and the size of the nails should be used for moulding?

I’ve shortlisted - Ryobi Airwave C1 Series Air Brad Nailer  and Ryobi Airwave C Series Air Brad, but not sure which one to buy?

1. Any specific underlay that I should buy for abovementioned floor boards/laminate? I’ve shortlisted - QEP Laminate Floating Floor White Underlay I/N: 6650147. Is this the right choice?
  2. Do I need to worry about the level of the floor? What is the easiest way to measure this?
  3. Do we need to put moulding/scotia in front of sliding door cupboard?
  4. Any reliable online source that I can refer to for getting the guidelines and best practices for ?

I am willing to work as volunteer with someone who needs a helping hand so that I can learn the basics of flooring. Please let me know if you know of someone.

Would appreciate your help on this.

Take care.

Cheers

Sam

Jason
Community Manager
Community Manager

Re: How to lay wooden floor?

Hi @Sam-Sam,