Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Need advise on building child bed

Zach20
Getting Established

Need advise on building child bed

1E756C04-2C77-44B5-B965-DD5A5B87D673.jpeg

Hey guys, I’ve never done anything DIY before so I’m looking for advise on how to get started on building a bed like the the one below for my son. What sort of tools would be needed and any tips on how to get this done. Any and all advise would be great. Thanks

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: Need advise on building child bed

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @Zach20. It's fantastic to have you join us and many thanks for your question.

The very talented @Dark recently contributed their DIY kids house frame bed and we've featured it on our front page. It's almost identical to what you want to build and I trust they would be more than happy to answer any questions on how they went about constructing it.

You'll most likely need a drill driver and a circular saw, though @Dark used a handsaw for their project.

I've rendered the build so you can see slightly better all the individual components. Personally, I'd build the two end frames first and then join them together with the side runners.

Let me mention some of our keen woodworkers @JDE, @r23on and @Poppop to see if they would like to join the conversation.

Please let me know if you have any questions.

Mitchell

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
r23on
Amassing an Audience

The first thing you need to do is a sketch with a few dimensions. Once you have the idea or concept in mind take a trip to Bunnings to the dressed pine area and have a look at the material available, you may just find the sizes in one of the piles of timber saving time in sizing and cutting.

Failing that not sure of the cutting service Bunnings has these days you may be able have the material cut to size and all you need to do is assemble.