Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Basic tools for an new/amateur woodworker

MutsRenos
Finding My Feet

Basic tools for an new/amateur woodworker

Hi everyone, 

So I'm a sort of new woodworker/carpenter (I'm in year 11 VCE currently studying Certificate II in Building & Construction at TAFE) and I was thinking of buying some basic tools that I could use at home so I can start practicing my woodworking skills when I'm not at TAFE. Does anyone one know what kind of tools I would need to start a small workshop at home.

I have also decided that as a first project, I wanted to try and build a basic workbench (was thinking of building the one from Bunnings D.I.Y advice) as I don't have one yet and I figured I would need one if I wanted to start woodworking at home. 

If anyone could give me any advice, that would be very helpful :smile:

Thanks, Muts

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: Basic tools for an new/amateur woodworker

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @MutsRenos. Many thanks for your question, I'd be happy to assist.

It's fantastic to have you join us and that's a great question to ask. You might be interested in reading What was the first tool you ever boughtIs Makita Dewalt or Bosch betterWhat tools does a beginner needTools battery or corded and The great power tools debate- What is the best brand.