Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to build an indoor bird enclosure?

PN
Having an Impact

How to build an indoor bird enclosure?

Hi All I am a total DIY novice. So reaching our to all the gurus in here for guidance. I have got a unusual project. We are wanting to build a L shaped enclosure in our living room for where we keep our pet cockatiels and budgies. The enclosure we are wanting is around waist high with a base running from two walls and intersecting in an L and a clear material waist high L shaped enclosure stting on the base. The aim is to prevent the seed debris etc from the birds rolling across the entire living room. I am wanting guidance on how build this. I am imaging two pieces intersecting in a L and then something other than glass forming the 'wall' of the enclosure. I have enclosed two photos of the area which we want to bound by the enslosure. I am probably not very clear in explaining what we are after so thanks in advance for the help.

Area to enclose ( the L )Area to enclose ( the L )Side view of the LSide view of the L

PN
Having an Impact

Re: Indoor Bird Enclosure

I am thinking of using clear acyrlic sheets to create the L shaped enclosure. to Join two acrylic sheets with acrylic cement to bond the two sheets. 

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @PN. It's fantastic that you've joined us, and many thanks for your questions.