Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to upcycle coffee table with painted drawers and varnish the rest?

justine123
Just Starting Out

How to upcycle coffee table with painted drawers and varnish the rest?

I am planning to start upcycling my dated furniture as my living area is all browns . Maybe paint with chalk paint drawers and top, varnish the rest. What size sandpaper and any tips please, newbie here

IMG20220414113328.jpg

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: How do i go about upcycling coffee table please. id like to paint drawers and varnish the rest

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @justine123. It's sensational to have you join us, and many thanks for your question about upcycling furniture.

Check out this handy step-by-step guide: How to upcycle a bedside cabinet. Styling is totally up to you, but I'd be sanding the top back and clear coating it to reveal the natural timber colour and then painting everything else. I'd also recommend considering changing up the handles, and something in the brass range would look sensational. I'm loving these brass knurled knobs at the moment.

Using Dulux Precision primer Max Adhesion will be the key to your chalk paint adhering correctly. The alternative is sanding everything, but that would be an extremely tedious process.

Let me mention a few of our upcycling experts, @lifestylebymari@craftyhopper@rubytuesday1953 and @prettyliving, to see if they have some advice.

Please let me know if you have any questions.

Mitchell

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
rubytuesday1953
Having an Impact

Re: How do i go about upcycling coffee table please. id like to paint drawers and varnish the rest

Hi @justine123 Justine123,