Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Raising inspection point - sewerage pipe

newfast
Having an Impact

Raising inspection point - sewerage pipe

Hello All,

Recently, we did camera inspection of our sewerage line and overall its good but there are some small cracks and some places where tissues can stuck. Small area has shrub  roots growing and interested to know if users conduct jet cleaning by themselves or via plumber?

Now the main thing, we have 2 inspection points under house and 2nd one is under blue metal (pics attached). Instead of removing all the garden gear then pull out blue metal, I would like to know if I can raise this inspection point? Perhaps use 100mm pvc and then a plastic cover on top but I am no expert and hoping someone can throw some light on this??

PXL_20210508_034315312.jpg

PXL_20210508_034245170.jpg

PXL_20210508_034222739.jpg

PXL_20210508_034227681.jpg

PXL_20210428_014754112.jpg

  

newfast
Having an Impact

Re: Raising inspection point - sewerage pipe

@MitchellMc tagging you for guidance as usual :wink:

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Hi @newfast,

If it is only occasional heavy blockages or tree roots, I would suggest a professional is your best choice. The equipment they use is a lot more powerful than any D.I.Y. products. If you do want to attempt removing blockages yourself, you can purchase a Karcher High Pressure Cleaner Pipe Cleaning Kit. This kit would be suitable for removing light blockages and debris. 

I'd suspect that the black rubber O ring will slip over a Holman 100mm x 1m PVC DWV Pipe. The pipe and O ring are then pushed back into the terracotta pipe. Make sure the O ring is pushed in nice and tight, sealing the pipe in place. You'd then cut the pipe to just below the finished ground level. A Holman 100mm PVC DWV Bolted Trap Screw can then be glued to the pipe, and you can backfill the surrounding gravel.