Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Whole home low budget slow refresh

BoeingFan
Becoming a Leader

Whole home low budget slow refresh

Home Sweet Home!Home Sweet Home!So I'm about to take on a little cottage in the middle of nowhere to be near family, and I'm beside myself with excitement about all the stuff we can do to freshen her up. I've never done any reno stuff before, but a lick of paint is always a great place to start. Bunnings, here I come!

P.S. I'm still trying to work out how to add an image to this post!

BoeingFan
Becoming a Leader

Bathroom reno has begun

Demo has begunDemo has begun

Well the bathroom demo has begun. So far I've removed 2 panels of non-asbestos fibro, exposing the original fibro walls, and removed the Zip electric instant hot water system. There was also a large cupboard in the left corner which was impossible to remove in one piece, so I chainsawed it in half. I've got to remove the vanity and bathtub (which will go to the tip 🤔) yet, and then the plumber will do the internal plumbing. Fun, fun, fun! I'm very inspired by @jaga and the bathroom reno posted here because the room dimensions are very similar. Now what to do with those fabulous 70's curtains! 😁

EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: Whole home low budget slow refresh

Hello @BoeingFan

Thank you very much for the update on your home renovation. Are you installing a walk-in shower as well? Will the vanity still be in the same spot or will you be putting it at the far end wall? Is there a toilet in this room that we can't see? It looks like you have a steel ceramic bathtub. If you do, I propose saving it from the tip and turning it into either a vegetable garden out the back or a timber-heated spa. It would be a shame to just get rid of the tub when you can repurpose it for something else.