Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Tasmanian Oak bathroom vanity

Banyoabode
Building a Reputation

Tasmanian Oak bathroom vanity

IMG_4395.JPEG

I am a self-taught DIYer just giving it ago, and I hope you enjoyed this project as much as I did :smile:

We are finally renovating our bathroom, and when designing this space, a floating timber vanity was on the wish list, but the price was not!

So I decided to take on the challenge to build one myself, so I headed to bunnings to pick up my supplies. 

Using the Tassie Oak panel 1200 x 600 x 19 mm, I mitred the edges and glued them together using corner clamps. 

For support: I added timber on the back (helped with mounting to the wall), brackets underneath the bench top and used timber screws to secure the bottom. 

Now time to tackle the drawer. I picked up some soft closing drawer runners to get the measurements right before starting this step. 

I measured twice, cut once, and using my table saw, I cut grooves 7mm thick to slide the drawer base in (7mm plywood). Using pocket holes, I assembled the drawer.

I cut the timber drawer front to size and added a bevel edge for the handle. 

I sanded everything, patched imperfections with homemade wood filler (sawdust and wood glue), and sealed with Monocel exterior clear varnish. 

What do you think?

IMG_4393.JPEGIMG_3957.JPEGIMG_4093.JPEGIMG_4236.JPEG

KatieC
Retired Team Member
Retired Team Member

Re: Tasmanian Oak bathroom vanity

Hi @Banyoabode,