Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Setting up a workshop for mostly timber work

Old-gal24
Becoming a Leader

Setting up a workshop for mostly timber work

My darling pop not long passed away - he gave me the incentive and encouragement to get in and have a go -working with timber, which I love, but I'm still very new to it. In the process of trying to set up my newest workshop. My biggest issue is how do I stop the saw dust from going everywhere. Mostly at this stage from my drop saw. It has a bag which I empty regularly, but the saw dust still manages to go everywhere, and I like to keep things reasonably neat and tidy so I can find things. And just don't want to spend time cleaning up after every job.
I have researched dust extraction systems, BUT they are costly and a bit over kill for this gal. My shed is a newly built colorbond & I haven't lined all the walls yet, so I could run some PVC behind them when I get that far.
I have just built my second work bench this one out of an old solid door and plan on making another (which I think Ill put on wheels), so I can keep the bulk of my electrical tools, drop saw, saw bench, router bench, drill press and other tools set up on one, and have thought maybe connection for each item into the PVC, not sure exactly how but thought someone out there may have some suggestions.
I may even sew dust covers for each of them as well, it's gets very dry and dusty where I live.

Door BenchDoor BenchTrying to square it up for legsTrying to square it up for legsThank you for any advice you can give me.
Cheers
Jenn

Jason
Community Manager
Community Manager

Re: Setting up a workshop for mostly timber work

Hi Jenn (@Old-gal24)