Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How do I choose the materials for my DIY Oven + Dishwasher cabinet.

spacepolitix
Getting Established

How do I choose the materials for my DIY Oven + Dishwasher cabinet.

Hello,

This is my first ever DIY furniture item. I want a cabinet that can fit a dishwasher and an oven, but there wasn't anything cheap.
I've attached my own design - this is my first time doing this so please let me know if there is anything that sticks out as being very wrong.

My my concern is what type of wood to use, and how to go abouts painting/coating it so that it is white and also won't be damaged by the oven's heat. Please give me advice on this.

I don't have any DIY tools at home so I will have to get it all custom cut somewhere.Acrobat_2021-02-28_05-45-59.pngAcrobat_2021-02-28_05-46-26.png

Cheers

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: How do I choose the materials for my DIY Oven + Dishwasher cabinet.

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @spacepolitix. It's fantastic to have you join us, and many thanks for your question.

It's essential that you pay special attention to your appliance manufacturer's specifications to make sure they fit within your cabinet. These specifications will also guide you in allowing the right amount of clearance needed. 

You might like to take advantage of the Kaboodle 600mm Raw Board Oven Tower Pack and use it in your design. The carcass could be made with CustomPine if you provide adequate ventilation and clearance.

Let me mention @redracer01 as he might have some ideas and has provided some spectacular oven tower renderings to other members in the past. I trust his keen eye will pick up on anything you've missed.

Mitchell

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
redracer01
Kind of a Big Deal

Hello @spacepolitix