Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Pine dining table stain and varnish help

TrooperJo
Cultivating a Following

Pine dining table stain and varnish help

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie here. I've been trying to follow steps here to make us a new dining table except I'm using a pine panel .

I've used Monocel Walnut Stain and Varnish and applied 3 coats. The first time I used the mohair roller as in the instructions. That first coat was so patchy I went to Bunnings and was suggested to use a Decking Oil Applicator for more even application. I could see the following 2 layers went on more even but it seems like the damage had already been done. It's still super patchy and there are some blurry patches and some semi-circle type marks I have no idea how to get rid of.

Other than that, we let some drips go down the edges and didn't wipe them up. I tried to sand them back but now there are parts of the edges that are clearly sanded right back and the drips are still there, see photos.

Does anyone have any ideas how we can try and improve the patchiness on top and on the edges?

Thanks! :smile:

IMG20220206171209.jpgIMG20220208213925.jpgIMG20220208214010.jpgIMG_20220208_220022.jpgIMG_20220208_220047.jpg

EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: Pine dining table stain and varnish help

Hello @TrooperJo 

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community. It's a pleasure having you join us, and thank you for sharing your question about staining and varnishing your pine table.

It's great to hear that you're giving this project a go. You've made excellent progress so far, if you applied the Monocel Walnut Stain and Varnish neat or undiluted, you'll often get light and dark areas when you apply the stain and varnish. The technique of getting that first coat uniform is to thin the varnish with some turpentine.