Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to fix a split in a table top

Noela
Getting Established

How to fix a split in a table top

Total newbie with no idea here. I have my Grandmothers old pine kitchen table but it has a split the whole length of the top of it.  I want to strip the horrible varnish/stain on it back, paint the legs white and leave the top the natural pine colour.

Question One.  What do I do about the split in the top?  Not sure if I try to glue/clamp it back together or as it's split the whole way just fill with putty or something?  I don't mind if you have to see the mark where the split is just don't want a gaping hole there.

Question Two:  Once I've dealt with the split what do I put on the table top to just have it natural but protected.  

Thank you.

Table 1.jpgTable 2.jpgTable 3.jpg

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: How to fix a split in a table top

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @Noela. It's fantastic to have you join us, and many thanks for your question.

I suspect that split is the joint between one of the four boards used to construct the top. You could remove the board, clean it up and re-glue it into position, closing the gap. However, it would involve a fair amount of work, you'd need some long clamps, and there is the potential that damage could be caused. To glue this piece back, it would really need to be removed, allowing you to cover the joint with glue adequately. It would be hard to get a sufficient amount of glue to penetrate that small gap at the moment. I'd be happy to walk you through this process if that is something you'd like to do.