Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Upcycled chairs: Painting advice needed

Mave
Getting Established

FRONT.jpg

This is my first time refurnish project.

Lots of mistakes and few thing I hope you guys can give me some advice for the paint.

I have two identical chairs, the first one done, I don't want to make same mistakes again.

I used Chalk Paint and I found the paint texture not really I hope for.

Whats the options for the paint, indoor chair but I may put them outsider in covered alfresco now.

I was planning to the wood stain for the panels at the beginning. but I found the chair itself wasn't a fine wood so lot of fix and half way i found the crack as well. 
This time I won't take out the screw for the sitting panel and just leave how it is. back panel of the seat has been taken out and I look for the paint and colour options as well. First one is White and kinda White wash for the panel. Now I am thinking the second one probably white and green colour for the sitting/back panels? What do you reckon?

and what kind of brush I should use? I use the fine paint brush at the beginning and still leave many brush marks even I sand it. Some recommend using small roller brush may improve the result in large surface.

Do I also need dilute the paint before I paint? 

I attached the first project I made