Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Wood bleed??

TashT
Getting Established

Wood bleed??

Hi all, I’m new to this whole painting thing, so am guessing it’s something I’ve done, or haven’t done!

So I sanded these 2 bedside tables, cleaned and dried them. The paint I used said there wasn’t any need to prime, so I didn’t. After the first coat dried there are some brown marks showing through, it looks like the wood staining through. I’m not sure if I’m using the correct terminology here or if I made it up :smile:

So I slapped on another coat of paint, and same thing.

Question is...do I need to sand it back to the wood, then put a primer on and start from scratch? Help!! Thank you.

F7DDAD1E-77A7-45C1-9325-AC821037DA08.jpeg

C727E58B-9966-43E4-92CB-F1484DCC7088.jpeg

3ABB2BB2-720D-4BEA-A22B-530EAD9907C1.png

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: Wood bleed??

Hi @TashT,

It's great to see you make your first post and many thanks for your question.

What you are seeing bleed through is the stain used on the furniture. I note in the instructions they mention to lightly sand. That would indicate they don't want to break the varnish coating exposing the interior stain.

I wouldn't sand it all off, but applying a coat of Rust-oleum 1l Bulls Eye 1-2-3 Undercoat Primer Sealer Stain Blocker would certainly block the stain at that level. You could then apply a final coat of the chalked paint over that.

I would also have a chat with our paint experts instore, explain to them you followed the directions which indicated no primer was required and the stain is bleeding through. I'd be more than happy to have a chat with the store you purchased the product from to get their opinion on the circumstance. I'll reach out via private message to get some additional details from you.

Please let me know if you need further assistance or had any questions.

Mitchell