Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Creating a complete outdoor BBQ space

sandy_d
Amassing an Audience

Creating a complete outdoor BBQ space

originally started this outdoor area to enjoy Easter with the family at my place. It suddenly became a space where we would honour and cherish my mums memories. I made use of free pallet wood for all exterior panelling, pinched a few spoons from her kitchen for handles and got creative. This is my first project, so I’m a newbie when it comes to building anything! EABDF4C5-2131-41C7-A4C1-EBFBD095EA0D.jpeg

I had an existing concrete slab so I built a pergola with these dimensions. Post stirrups were cemented in place and I created the pergola with sawn treated pine 100x100, sleepers and treated pine timber. All profiles I cut with circular saw and jigsaw and sanded to round off profiles. 

F56D3EA4-F9DC-4CC7-9D34-CF97C4B724E2.jpeg

Finished pergola. 

359CB688-3B1C-497C-9718-1B8B5183B495.jpeg

I measured the existing frame and constructed a new frame with small counter tops. I lined with cement sheeting and made cement counter tops (reinforced). 

1D5BF80D-95AF-45EC-9CBF-2C6053144C28.jpeg

I attached a retractable outdoor blind for some sun blockout. The corners of the BBQ area I added some thin wood off cuts (2mm). Sprayed black and attached to break up all the pallet wood. 

E25A0031-2867-4750-A73D-A1EFC4371B72.jpeg

1EFBC510-AA81-4B8B-9393-EF4FEBE3F33D.jpeg

Please consult with your local council regarding pergola construction and height etc. as different rules apply. The Mumme Reno bar was a life saver to dismantle the pallets. It was money well spent for me. 

StevieB
Retired Team Member
Retired Team Member

Re: Creating a complete outdoor BBQ space