Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Restoring Antique Thonet Bentwood Chairs

jessftwyatt
Just Starting Out

Restoring Antique Thonet Bentwood Chairs

Hi! I have some very, very basic experience with restoring furniture but am overall a bit of a novice, so am hoping someone might be able to give me some advice! I found an antique Thonet 255 chair on Gumtree almost for free, and I am hoping to restore it. I've attached some pics. 

My questions are:
1. How should I strip it? The chair's frame seems to be sturdy wood, but I think the back is moulded plywood, as is the seat which also has unusual snakeskin pattern on it (see pics). I'm worried that usual stripper might damage the plywood and especially the seat. 

2. I've taken the seat off, as it was coming away at the edges (see pics) and removed the back piece and the circle between the chair legs (all the technical lingo here), but I can't seem to take the chair apart any furhter as there are nails holding the arms to the legs. Is that sufficient before stripping and refinishing? It's very sturdy so I don't have any structural concerns. 

3. The circle between the legs has a significant split in it, which has been wired together by the previous owner, plus part of the split wood has broken off. Do I glue this back together using usual wood glue (can I use the wire again to hold it while it glues, as I don't have clamps?) What about the broken off bit? Do I just sand that smooth and accept that its not going to be perfect? 

4. When I reattach the seat I guess I just use woodglue and clamp it down somehow (perhaps it's time to invest in some clamps...)?

Sorry for my very basic questions - I hope someone might have some answers!

Thank you, Jess