Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

What wood lathe would you recommend for a beginner?

BigFella1956
Building a Reputation

What wood lathe would you recommend for a beginner?

Good afternoon Everyone, I am relatively new to wood working and am acquiring macjines and tools as I progress and 

I am at the stage now where I'd like to buy a wood lathe. As to application, I will be turning blanks into either bowls or into rounded pieces of timber that I can then carve into whatever takes my fancy at the time. I am not all that interested in maching longer pieces of timber, at least not right now. As for bowl diameter, I am looking at anywhere up to between 300 and 450 mm.

I don't want to start out cheap because that's wasting money in my opinion yet I can't afford the top of the line. My budget is around $1,000. If possible, I would prefer electronic controls.

If anyone has any recommendations, they would be much appreciated.

Regards, Chris

r23on
Amassing an Audience

Re: What wood lathe would you recommend for a beginner?

Hi Chris

I am not a fan of Carbatec branded product this lathes looks to be a copy of what I have. I have just looked this one https://www.carbatec.com.au/laguna-revo-12-16-midi-lathe It gives better usability range a 30 x 3.5 spindle thread so most chucks will fit with out insert adapters and not much price difference. If you can get into Carbatec and have a look and hands on it would be better. Can I ask what part of Vic are you living in. We use a range of Laguna machines at the mens shed and they seem to be standing up to abuse quite well. to top it off Laguna have replacement parts when need.

Just looked at a video of the laguna I would look at it over the Carbatec brand. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dRZUGREznws 

Suggest you buy your turning tools from Timberbits better priced But if you have the funds consider Vicmarc VL 150 full support and back up.

Hope this helps