Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Need help with my DIY kitchen island using Ikea MALM

abs898
Getting Established

Need help with my DIY kitchen island using Ikea MALM

Hi everyone

It's my first time doing a D.I.Y project, it's hard for me as I live in an apartment and there isn't much space for these projects. Not to mention, I don't own much tools either, just a basic drill set.

I want to create an island using my already built IKEA MALM drawer as in the photo and use a timbrr board for top and side.

Would I be able to get timber panels cut to exact dimensions and what brackets or anything else would you recommend to put this together?

Thanks in advance!! 

Screenshot_20210511-203300_Chrome.jpg

StevieB
Retired Team Member
Retired Team Member

Re: DIY kitchen island using Ikea MALM

Wonderful to hear that you’re giving your first D.I.Y. project a go @abs898. Let me extend a warm welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community. You’ve come to the right place for ideas and advice.

Sounds like you’ve got a great plan in mind for this kitchen island. Our resident D.I.Y. expert @MitchellMc will be happy to help you get started on this project when he’s back on the site on Friday. In the meantime, let me tag @redracer01 and @diy_hausdesigns to see if they can share any suggestions.

Many Bunnings stores offer a timber cutting service and @MitchellMc has put together helpful answers to frequently asked questions about this:

Does Bunnings cut wood to size?

I can completely understand the tight squeeze of an apartment as I’m in one too. I'm sure community members looking to tackle D.I.Y. projects while living in an apartment will be looking to you for inspiration, and we’d love to see progress pictures and hear updates about this project along the way.

Stevie

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
redracer01
Kind of a Big Deal

Re: Need help with my DIY kitchen island using Ikea MALM