Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Lighten and Restore Parker Dining Chair

sarahdawn
Finding My Feet

Lighten and Restore Parker Dining Chair

Hi All, 

I am a newbie to the platform and am seeking some experienced advice on how to lighten and restore these beautiful parking dining chairs. 

I will be reupholstering also. Trying to match a beautiful new dining table I purchased, I have been hunting down the perfect chair for so long that I have almost forgotten how to sit on one. I have decided that true satisfaction after so many countless hours devoted to the hunt, would be restoring them to make it my own. 

I had narrowed my search down to ratten or parker/carver chairs. 

Locating the most perfect set of chairs, I have decided to reupholster and slightly lighten the wood by removing the finish. 

I am looking for advice that will give me the best results, being a novice handyman, and a step by step to get the best results?

Feel free to recommend me better products if you feel it can do the job better. :smile: Greatly appreciated!

Note; please keep budget and accessibility in mind. 

Step one; Stripping the finish

*after removing the seat and back rest

Ingredients:

1. Johnstone's 1L Timber Stripper Gel

2. Pure Line 50mm ABC Plastic Scraper (in order to not gauge the wood)

Method:

1. Paint on thick layer of Timber stripper gel

2. Let sit for roughly ***Suggested minutes please***

3. Carefully scrape the excess off

Step two; After wash

***Advice: What is a good after wash, how and what to apply it with***

**SANDING BLOCK ADVICE???***

Buff and smooth? What is the best for this?

Step three; ****UNSURE, please help***

Step four; Applying wax/sealant

I want to keep this a natural colour to match my dining table - I am considering;

Do I need to put something down prior to using a wax?

1. Preparation? Gilly Stephensons 100g Clear Restoring And New Timber Polish