Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to finish the top of a D.I.Y. home office desk?

vr_syd
Having an Impact

How to finish the top of a D.I.Y. home office desk?

Hi Folks, 

I'm a newbie DIY'er here :smile:

I'm looking to make a relatively simple WFH desk. For this I've zeroed in on this Beech Laminated Panel from Bunnings. I'll b using 4 simple Ikea Adils legs, which can be screwed on the panel. Now, I'm kind of lost as to how to polish/varnish/oil the surface of the table top. I definitely don't want to paint it over - love to expose the natural grain of the panel. I've been looking online at the various types of wood treatments and honestly, seems a bit overwhelming :laugh:

Can anyone please suggest a good, easy way to polish/varnish/oil the desk top? I'm looking for something that will protect from beverage stains (yes there will some coffee spills :P) and relatively light in colour. 

The next step after I do the desk will be to build a chest of drawers on castors which will slide in under the desk. Any suggestions on this also welcome :smile:

EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: Home Office Desk

Hello @vr_syd

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community. It's wonderful to have you join us, and thank you for sharing your question about your home office desk.

I highly recommend looking at this step-by-step guide -  How to restore wooden furniture. In the video, you'll see how the team member sands the table flat using different grit levels of sandpaper. The trick is to start with a low grit numbered sandpaper to remove any major imperfections on the top. Next, you start going up the grit number until you reach 300 or 400 grit. At this grit number, you're actually removing the splinters in the wood.