Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Whole home low budget slow refresh

BoeingFan
Becoming a Leader

Whole home low budget slow refresh

Home Sweet Home!Home Sweet Home!So I'm about to take on a little cottage in the middle of nowhere to be near family, and I'm beside myself with excitement about all the stuff we can do to freshen her up. I've never done any reno stuff before, but a lick of paint is always a great place to start. Bunnings, here I come!

P.S. I'm still trying to work out how to add an image to this post!

Re: Whole home low budget slow refresh

@MitchellMcMate, I'm so humbled by your words, and am very grateful to see that perspective now. I guess I hadn't thought anyone would be interested because so many houses today are McMansions, not little fibro shacks, and I perhaps felt a little shy about it. Thanks for the grounding! I hope you find a place to sink your teeth into for your family.

Sometimes, like tonight, I find I can't sleep because I'm hanging out for tomorrow to come so that I can get back into doing stuff. Today I went to Bunnings and got an extendable Monarch paint roller pole so I can get some colour on those exterior walls and start seeing how she's going to look. I've got some sample pots of Dulux colours called grid, tinker and highgate, which I think will look great, fingers crossed.

Hopfully I'll have a preliminary pic of at least part of a wall tomorrow.

Cheers,
JasonIMG_8728.jpg

Re: Bathroom reno has begun

A nice old full length bathtubA nice old full length bathtub

The old vanity was dismantled piece by piece.The old vanity was dismantled piece by piece.

I appreciate good architecture no matter where it comes from.I appreciate good architecture no matter where it comes from.

This thing is heavy!This thing is heavy!

This is where today finished off.This is where today finished off.